A Smoker doesn’t prioritize their health, so why are they going to care about yours?

12 Mar

I completely understand that saying such statements will have “smokers” fuming, that’s ok, it’s actually said with love & compassion.  Quitting smoking has been compared to quitting heroin.  This is not an easy over night journey for most.  The message here – “We care about your health SMOKERS, even if you don’t”.

I LOVE NY! I absolutely detest walking the Manhattan street sidewalks.  To quote a lyric from Sweeney Todd the musical “CITY ON FIRE!”. Second hand smoke is so obnoxious. Why should us non-smokers have to deal with this?  Which leads me to have this discussion…

“A Smoker doesn’t prioritize their health, so why are they going to care about yours”.

I’ve personally never smoked, I have many family members that do.  It baffles and concerns me greatly that these people I love with all my heart still choose smoking over their own health, and over the possibility of getting sick or even dying from such an addiction.  Are they seriously alright with leaving their family relationships prematurely for these tobacco sticks??? This is serious! Why aren’t we talking about how controlled our loved ones are by the cigarette industry? And who is behind this?

Let’s start the intervention, and if you have already been talking about it… talk about it again.  It’s time to stand up for your own health as well. We can send love and support for those needing to quit this disguising, selfish, addiction. Do not allow people to smoke around you.   You can’t stop LOVE & PROGRESS.

484832_544339692267145_918725115_n

8 Responses to “A Smoker doesn’t prioritize their health, so why are they going to care about yours?”

  1. supermomsupport April 2, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

    Lung cancer is the deadliest cancer in men and women worldwide. Not only does it kill you but it prematurely ages your skin and makes you stink to high heaven. I smoked for 13 years and used to get bronchitis all the time. I haven’t had it once in the 12 years since I quit. If you can’t quit…. try the electronic cigarettes. They are so much safer and don’t hurt those around you!

  2. Amy Rivard April 2, 2013 at 4:54 pm #

    Thanks for this post. I completely agree. Additionally, smokers have no idea how horrible they smell. It doesn’t matter how much they wash their clothing etc. because you can smell it coming from their skin. They smell like rotting flesh. Sounds disgusting but sadly its true! And most of the smokers I know look about 10 years older than they actually are. It’s so sad to see people that truly don’t care about their health and well being.

    • Dayvid April 18, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

      Why don’t you stop judging what other people do and worry about your own life? God I can’t stand people like you!

      • recoveringmoms April 18, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

        Really???!! He’s not judging! He truly cares about others and their health!! I loved smoking too but I knew it was killing me. I am so thankful that I was able to quit. You taste and smell things you never could before. Plus it doesn’t cost a damn fortune! Know the difference between judgement and true concern before you so easily lay down the word hate.

    • Dan Curtis March 13, 2014 at 1:41 pm #

      Craig and I went to University together. I smoked then. Before that, I smoked for four of my five years of high school. Since University, I’ve smoked cigarettes pretty consistently at a rate of about a pack a day. Is it selfish? Sure, I’ll allow that. Is it gross? Definitely. Is it hard to quit? You’re damned right it is. I’m one of those people who had grandparents live well into their late nineties all the while smoking cigarettes, which gave me even more of a false sense of invincibility.
      I’m married, I have a wonderful little boy, and a not-so-wonderful mortgage. I realized a short time ago that if I didn’t stop smoking, I wouldn’t be around to see my little boy grow up. I wouldn’t be around to finish paying off this house. I wouldn’t be around at all, and the kicker is that it would be entirely my own fault.

      My last trip to the doctor featured a clean bill of health, and a prescription for a non-nicotine smoking cessation aid. It has now been more than a week since I last smoked, and I couldn’t feel better about it. I know it’s going to be a life-long battle to remain smoke-free, but I’m already through the hardest part. The rest seems like a piece of cake (which I can now taste).

      Thanks for writing this Craig.

      • Craig Ramsay March 13, 2014 at 3:27 pm #

        Hi Dan! Firstly, it’s so good to hear from you & congrats on the marriage & having a little boy.
        Secondly, that you for sharing these personal details, “I wouldn’t be around to finish paying off this house” that statement moved me. When anyone is willing to look so deeply into their life and take responsibility like you are for your decisions and actions success and progression happens. OK, now let’s plan a U of W reunion soon!

  3. ashley April 23, 2014 at 7:38 pm #

    You can’t change what a person is doing just by showing pictures. i get lectured everyday by my mom, and have seen even worse pictures even lost family to lung cancer and i still smoke a pack a day, why??? because I’m a smoker and can’t quit I’ve tried and it doesn’t work, plus it relaxes me. not saying what you’re doing isn’t a good thing, but a lot of smokers aren’t influenced enough by these pictures and facts.
    once again not trying to put what you’re doing down just giving you an opinion from a current smoker.

Leave a Reply

