VEGETARIAN PHYSIQUE?

5 Dec

  For the last 6 months, after much internal conflict, I have been weening myself off of animal proteins. Some of my initial “programmed” fears were… would I be able to sustain my muscle mass? Would I still look healthy, or would I lose my body builder physique? I have spent a lot of time, and a whole lot of hard work to build my body to where I am today. Just to throw it down the drain because of my ethical love of all of Earth’s creatures. I recently found this article in Muscle & Fitness which supports a lot of what I have already been applying.  This should be an ongoing discussion with each other. I would love to hear your thoughts.

Raw Deal - Can a Guy Build Muscle on a Vegan Diet?

Raw Deal – Can a Guy Build Muscle on a

Vegan Diet?

Matthew Kenney, one of America’s top chefs, says yes!

Raw Fuel:

Among the many raw-food proponents is Mark Martell, a New York-based pharmacist, trainer, and bodybuilder who currently weighs 212 pounds at 7%–8% body fat, down from 24% body fat three years ago. In that time, Martell’s daily protein consumption has never exceeded 125 grams—“all of which has consisted of plant-based fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, and superfoods,” he says. Below is a shopping list of foods Martell recommends for any bodybuilder or athlete.

Fruits: Dates, Blueberries, Bananas, Grapes, Cantaloupe, Orange, Watermeolon, Grapefruit, Mango, Limes, Apple, Lemon

Nuts: Raw Almonds

Leafy Greens: ROmaine, Kale, Spinach

Super Foods: Chia seeds, Goji Berries, Moringa Leaf, Ashwagandlha, Dulse, Flaxseeds

Vegetables: Squash, Cucumbers, Beets, Avocado

And Also: Cilantro, parsley, Himalayan salt, tomatoes, carrots, maca root powder, spirulina, chlorella, quinoa, buckwheat, and amaranth.

Plant-based Bulk

Matthew Kenney’s book Everyday Raw (Gibbs Smith, 2008) features this appropriately named mass-building smoothie:

“The Muscle”

5 fresh pears, cut in quarters and cored, 1 tsp cinnamon, 2 tbsp hemp protein, 2 tbsp mesquite pod meal, 2 cups almond milk, 2 tbsp agave, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 pinch sea saltBlend all ingredients on high for 30–40 seconds. Enjoy!

3 Responses to “VEGETARIAN PHYSIQUE?”

  1. Paul Meenan December 5, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    I gave up meat 26 years ago for compassion reason. As a bonus the doctor says my health is in excellent condition. A year and a half ago I started going to the gym for weightlifting and cardio classes. I lost those nagging 15 pounds (yes you can get fat on a vegetarian diet) and have built up lots of muscle. You’ll be fine Craig. Remember elephants are vegetarians and are stranger than you and me combined. 😉

    • Paul Meenan December 5, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

      Oops… I meant “stronger” than you and me. Come to think of it they may be stranger too.

    • Craig Ramsay December 5, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

      Paul – “Remember Elephants are vegetarians and are stronger than you and me combined” is a wonderful reminder! Thank you for that.

Leave a Reply

