THE FABULOUS FOLLIES!

4 Dec

PS Follies

http://www.psfollies.com/

SPLITS-LIFTS-BIG NOTES-HIGH KICKS & TONS OF GLITTER!

Palm Springs always seems to have a way of “humbling” me!

Quick Story – My first Mixer Event in PS I was talking with an older gentleman who seemed very interested, impressed and intrigued by my Broadway career. After listing my credits and feeling prideful of my accomplishments, I asked him what he does. He said, “Well I’m now retired but I performed back in the day”. I asked ,”Really??? what type of performing? What did you do?”. To which he humbly replied, “I was in the original cast of Fiddler on the Roof, Gypsy, West Side Story, and 7 Brides for 7 Brothers“. SERIOUSLY!?!? Whatch out entitled, overly proud, young people. Need a reality check? Go visit Palm Springs and make sure to check out The Fabulous Follies.  Aretha’s “R.E.S.P.E.C.T” should be included in this show.  No walkers or wheelchairs here, it’s all about the dancing, singing, and yes lifts & splits.  Your eyes won’t believe what you are seeing. 74 years young, 83 years young, 78 years young, and the list goes on.

Lorna Luft (Judy Garlands daughter) was the guest performer that night. Whose big, high notes were very reminiscent of her iconic mothers ( one of the greatest voices of our time, in my opinion).

Lorna Luft CD

Fit and Fabulous got to talk to the legendary singer’s daughter, but I was a little frustrated  that I didn’t get the chance to talk to these marvelous performers.  The stories they must be able to tell!

I also have to give a shout out to Follies man Riff Markowitz.  Performing comedy scares me, actually sitting there watching someone do comedy terrifies me.  This man was FUN(NY!)  He ripped on everyone.  Of course the majority of audience members had white hair but he still was able to point out and isolate his gays and respectfully pick us apart.  No wonder this show has been around for so many years! This man not only created the show, but is obviously the glue that holds it together.  BRAVO! If you are in Palm Springs make sure to check this show out. Oh, and also, I will never complain about  feeling sore… OR anything every again for that matter! LOL.

Lorna Luft FitnFab

Leave a Reply

